Skip to main content

The United Nations and Millennium Development Goals: The United Nations Millennium Development Goals

A guide that explores The United Nations Millennium Development Goals and Australia's contribution in contributing to the success of these goals.

The United Nations

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945.  After the destruction caused by World War 11 and the horrific loss of life during the holocaust, the major countries of the world decided to create an organisation that would protect and maintain global peace. It is currently made up of 193 Member States.  The mission and work of the United Nations are guided by the purposes and principles contained in its founding Charter.

History of The United Nations. 

What the United Nations does

Where the United Nations Works

Protection of Human Rights

The Millennium Development Goals

The United Nations Millennium Development Goals

In 2000, countries of The United Nations met at a summit to create global targets to tackle extreme poverty and social inequalities. The Summit created eight goals that should be achieved by 2015 by all countries that are members of the United Nations. The Goals are called The United Nations Millennnium Development Goals (UNMDG). Australia is a member of this group and has undergone national policy changes in order to reach the agreed upon targets.

The Eight Goals:

1. Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger

2. Achieve universal primary education

3. Promote gender equality and empower women

4. Reduce child mortality

5. Improve maternal health

6. Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases

7. Ensure environmental sustainability

8. A global partnership for development

In Australia a further goal focuses on the inequalities between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples and non indigenous Australians.

How did we go - Millennium Development Goals