LibGuides: Plate Tectonics: Home

Search the catalogue

Most of the books about Plate Tectonics and the Earth are in the 551 section of the Non-fiction shelves.

Find Tsunamis at 551.46

Find Earthquakes at 551.22

Find Volcanoes at 551.21

Search the Marian College Resource Centre library catalogue AccessIt for available resources.

Useful books

Violent Earth by Robert Dinwiddie, Simon Lamb and Ross Reynolds
Call Number: 551 DIN
ISBN: 1405373601
Publication Date: 2011
Covers seismology, vulcanology and tectonics. Explores the science behind predicting when major events will occur and profiles the areas of key geological activity such as earthquake zones, volcanic sites and plate boundaries. Includes information on significant events such as in Christchurch (2011) and Haiti (2010), the tsunami in Japan (2011) and the Queensland floods (2010).
Earthquake! by Anne Rooney
Call Number: 551.22 ROO
ISBN: 0749669217
Publication Date: 2006
Find out about how and where earthquakes happen. Includes several case studies to look into, including the devastating earthquake that hit Pakistan in 2005.
Volcano by Anne Rooney
Call Number: 551.22 ROO
ISBN: 1405308613
Publication Date: 2006
Read about the earth's core, plates and volcanoes and explore the violent events that cause the terrifying spectacle of an eruption. Includes case studies on the most significant eruptions such as the Pompeii eruption and how it all unfolded.
Tsunamis by Louise Park
Call Number: 551.46 PAR
ISBN: 1420205307
Publication Date: 2007
Covers general information on tsunamis such as how they are created and their causes. Includes case studies including the tsunami that hit in 2004.

Searching the Web

There is a lot of material available on the Internet therefore it is important to use effective search techniques to find the right material to suit your needs.

Decide on your Search terms.

Try a broad search on Plate Tectonics or Earth

Or be more specific.

Try Earthquakes or Tsunamis or Volcanoes or Natural Disasters

Weblinks Online is a database of websites that you can use as a starting point before you venture into the wider web.

You will need a username and password to access Weblinks Online. See the Resource Centre staff.

Websites

Click on these websites for information on Plate Tectonics, Earthquakes, Volcanoes and Tsunamis

Exploring Earth
Visual and animation based information on Plate Tectonics, Volcanoes, Earthquakes and other interesting facts on the Earth.
Geology
Articles, theories, diagrams, maps and more on Plate Tectonics.
The Geological Society
Use this website to search for detailed information on Plate Tectonics. Includes presentations, fact sheets, papers and reports.
National Earthquake Information Centre
The website provides information on our ecosystems and environment. This link goes straight to the earthquake page which includes photos, poster summaries, powerpoints, animations, publications and more.
Volcanoes of the World
List of volcanoes, their locations and type.
Volcanoes
Find out about volcanoes and its causes. Also a great website on tsunamis, earthquakes and landslides.
Tsunamis
Use this website for general information on Tsunamis. Includes videos, images and interactive material. Also a good site to search other disasters.

Plate Tectonics: Home

Search the catalogue

Useful books

Searching the Web

Websites

Plate Tectonics

Earthquakes

Volcanoes

Tsunamis

Clickview