LibGuides: Year 11: Ethics: World Religions: Home

Aspects of Religious Tradition

Even though the world's major religions are quite different and separate from each other, they have certain ideas/aspects in common with one another. They have been identified as

Belief
Sacred stories
Spaces, places, time and artefacts
Rituals
Symbols
Texts
Social structure
Ethics
Spiritual experiences

For more information about the 9 aspects of religion, visit, Q uizlet and The Religious World.

Searching the Catalogue

Search the Library Catalogue for some great resources available from the Marian College Resource Centre.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Search Britannica Online for information on various religions.

See Resource Centre staff for login details.

World Religions Online Database

World Religions Online This link opens in a new window
Explores the world's major religions, spiritual traditions and their impact on society.

Reference Books

Macmillan Information Now Encyclopedia of World Religions
Call Number: 200.3 WOR
ISBN: 9780028649214
Publication Date: 1998
A one volume encyclopedia on diverse religions with vivid descriptions of different liturgies, scriptures, founders and customs.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices by Thomas Riggs
Call Number: 200.9 WOR and Ebook
ISBN: 9780787666125
Publication Date: 2006
Includes information on the history, beliefs and contemporary practices of 13 major faith groups.
World Religions Almanac by Jones, J.S
Call Number: 200 JON and Ebook
ISBN: 139781414402321
Publication Date: 2006
Covers the history, traditions and world views of dominant and less prominent religions.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 97880028657332
Publication Date: 2005
Search this Ebook for comprehensive information on the major religions.

Websites

Religious Symbols
Click on the image/link for more information on the symbols' history, meaning and use.
Religious Symbols
An easy guide to symbols and the meaning.
10 most influential sacred texts
Read about the 10 most influential spiritual books.
Myths Encyclopedia
This page looks at the story of Adam and Eve.
Search this website for other religious stories.
Religion and Mythology - Wikipedia
Discusses relationship between religion and myths.
Wikibooks - Ritual and Religion
Scholarly discussion of ritual and religion.
Religious Law/Codes - Wikipedia
Detailed exploration of religious law or moral codes taught by religious traditions.

Poll

Did you find this LibGuide useful?

Yes: 97 votes (61.01%)

No: 62 votes (38.99%)

Total Votes: 159

Which resources did you find most useful?

Resource CentreBooks: 0 votes (0%)

Ebooks: 0 votes (0%)

Databases: 2 votes (66.67%)

Encyclopaedia: 0 votes (0%)

Web-sites: 1 votes (33.33%)

Total Votes: 3