LibGuides: Indigenous Issues: Indigenous Issues

Aboriginal Perspectives Collection

The Resource Centre has a seperate collection of books called The Aboriginal Perspectives Collection. This collection has books on a variety of Indigenous issues including The Stolen Generation, Reconciliation, Aboriginal deaths in custody, land rights and recognition of customary law.

Searching the Web

There is a lot of material available on the Internet therefore it is important to use effective search techniques to find the right material to suit your needs.

Decide on your Search terms.

Try Indigenous Issues, Reconciliation, Indigenous Peoples, Aboriginal Rights

Or be more specific.

Try Land Rights, Indigenous Customary Law, Aboriginal deaths in Custody, The Stolen Generation

Weblinks Online is a database of websites that you can use as a starting point before you venture into the wider web. Access Weblinks Online from the Access It Homepage:

http://www.weblinksresearch.com.au/login/

You will need a login and password to access Weblinks Online. See the Resource Centre staff.

Aboriginal deaths in custody

Click on these web-sites for information on Aboriginal deaths iin custody.

Royal Commission into Aboriginal deaths in custody
The Royal Commission findings about Aboriginal deaths in custody.
Indigenous Deaths in Custody - Australian Institute of Criminology
This article reflects on the Royal Commission into Aboriginal deaths in custody 25 years later
The Human Rights Commisssion Report into Aboriginal Deaths in Custody
This Report uses findings of coronial inquests as a means of auditing the implementation of the recommendations of the Royal Commission into Aboriginal Deaths in Custody.
Australian Institute of Criminology Indigenous Justice
This site has many useful links about Aboriginal Deaths in Custody.

The Stolen Generation

Stolen Generations Fact Sheet
This fact sheet explains the practice of the Australian Government in forcibly removing Indigenous children from their families. It covers the history, the Australian Government's apology to The Stolen Generations and the continuing impact of this practice.
Sorry Day and the Stolen Generations
The Stolen Generations Testimonies Project
The Stolen Generations’ Testimonies project is an initiative to record on film the personal testimonies of Australia’s Stolen Generations Survivors and share them online.
Stolen Generations, effects and consequences
Removal from their families has far-reaching consequences for children of the Stolen Generations. All aspects of their lives are affected.

Reconciliation

What is reconciliation?
The aim of this page is to guide young people to resources that they can use to understand more about reconciliation - what it means and what it means to get active to make reconciliation happen.
Reconciliation Australia Website
Reconciliation Australia is the national organisation promoting reconciliation between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and the broader Australian community.
Apology to Australia's Indigenous Peoples
On 13 February 2008 the then Prime Minister, the Hon Kevin Rudd MP, moved a motion of Apology to Australia's Indigenous Peoples with specific reference to the Stolen Generations. The Prime Minister described it as an occasion for "the nation to turn a new page in Australia's history by righting the wrongs of the past and so moving forward with confidence in the future".
Healing Foundation
Established on the first anniversary of the Apology to Australia's Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples it supports and promotes indigenous healing throughout Australia.

Land Rights

Land Rights Fact Sheet
This fact sheet covers information about native title and the struggle for land rights.
The Aboriginal Land Rights Act
The Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act 1976 was the first attempt by an Australian government to legally recognise the Aboriginal system of land ownership and put into law the concept of inalienable freehold title. The Land Rights Act is a fundamental piece of social reform.
The Aurora project - What is Native Title?
This website .provides a definition of Native Title and background information.
Mabo Judgement and Implications
On the 3rd of June, 1992, after a decade of litigation, the High Court ruled that the land title of the Indigenous Peoples, the Aborigines and Torres Strait Islanders, is recognised at common law.

Recognition of Indigenous Culture and Law

Indigenous Cultural Protocols
A helpful guide to cultural protocols for working with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples
The Koori History Website
This site covers a variety of Indigenous issues including, land rights, reconciliation, health and education.
Creative Spirits - Aboriginal Customary Law
Tribal punishment, customary law and payback.
Tribal punishment, customary law and payback
Aboriginal tribal law is often seen as harsh and brutal, but it ensured order and discipline. Payback is the most known form of customary law. Payback has survived until today and is still practiced which leads to conflicts between white law and tribal law.

Great Reference Books on Indigenous Issues

Check out the Macquarie Atlas of Indigenous Australia. This single volume reference book covers a wide range of aspects of Indigenous life, including: society, culture, economics, politics, education, health, land ownership and use and the environment.

Check out the two volume encyclopedia set: The Encyclopedia of Aboriginal Australia. This work contains the life stories and photographs of many Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander men and women who have made great contributions to their people and their country.

Books

Rights for Aborigines by Bain Attwood
Call Number: 323.1 ATT
ISBN: 1864489839
Publication Date: 2004-04-01
This book illuminates questions of race, history, political ansd social rights that are central to our understanding of relations between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal Australians.
They took the children by David Hollingsworth
Call Number: 362.849915 HOL
ISBN: 1876288132
Publication Date: 2003
This book tells the story of the thousands of Aboriginal children who were forcibly removed from their parents as part of Australian government policies over many decades.
Indigenous Australia Standing Strong by Penny Tweedie; William Deane (Foreword by)
Call Number: 305.89 TWE
ISBN: 0731810120
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
In this book young Indigenous Australians have their say giving insights into what it means to be Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander today.
Aboriginal Australians by Richard Broome
Call Number: 305.89915 BRO
ISBN: 1865087556
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
This new edition of a classic text on Aboriginal history is updated to cover the land rights struggle since Mabo, the Hindmarsh Island affair, debates over the stolen generation, 'sorry' and reconciliation.
Livewire Investigates Aboriginal Studies Land Rights by Sandra Cahir
Call Number: 346.9404
ISBN: 0521526728
Publication Date: 2002-06-27
This book simply tells the history behind Land Rights issues in Australia.
Aboriginal Rights Movement by World Book, Inc Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: 323.119915
ISBN: 9780716614999
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
This text describes the 200 year struggle of the Australian Aborigines against prejudice, oppression and injustice. In addition to contemporary photographs, the sources include leaflets, petitions, speeches,poems, and the viewpoints of campaigners and political leaders.

Australia Day - Invasion Day

Aboriginal People respond to Australia Day