Product Design: Product Design

The Australian Cultural Network provides a brief article about architecture in Australia and Australian online architecture resources.

A webpage that provides links to an archive of news and information about the State awards by the Royal Australian Institute of Architects (RAIA).

The public section of Australian Graphic Design Association (AGDA) website allows users to search the database to find a graphic designer under a broad range of specialities including education, illustration, 3D, animation, print and photography. The search can be narrowed by state. The winners and finalists in the 2009-2011 poster design competitions are also visible, with the brief and the rationale for each designers' work described.

The Australian Institute of Landscape Architects (AILA) champions quality design for public open spaces, stronger communities and greater environmental stewardship. We provide our members – in urban and rural Australia, and overseas – with training, recognition and a community of practice to share knowledge, ideas and action. With our members, we anticipate and develop a leading position on issues of concern in landscape architecture. Alongside government and allied professions, we work to improve the design, planning and management of the natural and built environment. AILA represents 2000 (and growing) members throughout Australia and overseas.

The website of the Design Institute of Australia has non-member pages that give information about the design industry, careers in design, a timeline history of design in Australia from 1789 and a select bibliography of materials about Australian design.

Australian designers at work is a collaborative project between the NSW Department of Education and Training and the Powerhouse Museum. It has been developed as an online resource for students and teachers of Stage 4 Technology. The six designers represent three areas of study: built environment, products and information and communication and six different design specialisations: environmental design, interior design, industrial design, jewellery design, promotional design and digital media design. Designers include fashion designers Louise Olsen, Stephen Ormandy and Liane Rossler of Dinosaur Designs, graphic designer Ray Parslow, interior designer Alison Page etc. Topics include information about the design process, evaluating success and a gallery of work.

D-Hub is an Australian design website that showcases good design in fields such as architecture, craft, digital media, fashion, graphic, industrial, engineering and landscape. It also contains news, interviews and opinions concerned with design.

This online course on the language of design, by Charlotte Jirousek, explores principles and elements of design, how to analyse design, and think critically about it in an objective way.

As well as providing information about its exhibitions, London's Design Museum has an interactive section exploring international contemporary design. With examples from the collection, users are asked to consider the visual impact of items, form and function, choice of material, and the problem solving capability of design. Suitable for interactive whiteboard. 

This site provides brief information about key 20th Century designers and manufacturers of furniture, lighting and industrial products.