History: Revolutions: Internet Links

An interesting survey of the historiography of the Russian Revolution written by Christopher Read, a well regarded historian of this period.

A site to visit often as it contains a wealth of information. This site was established by Steve Thompson who teaches this course.

Explore the ideas and interpretations of The Russian Revolution. Was the Revolution part of an inevitable process? Were the February and October revolutions truly popular revolutions? What factors were most crucial in bringing about revolutions in Russia - Social, economic, political modernisation?

A straightforward site full of useful information.

Refers to how photographs were manipulated by Soviet leaders to present a different version of history.

A great site for Russia and China. Loads of posters about the revolution - great for picture analysis questions.

A great selection of links relating to the Russian Revolution. There are general overviews, specific links to the February and October Revolutions, the civil war and after, key characters, political parties and movements, lessons and commentaries.

The Internet History Sourcebooks are collections of public domain and copy permitted texts available for educational use.

Excellent lecture notes by Steven Kries and further weblinks.

Probably one for the monarchists but fantastic photos of the Winter palace and information on the Romanovs.

Provides a good overview and additional links to key events and people.

A good overview and links for further research.

Site created by Paul Halsall, Fordham University. Last revised in 1999. Part of the Internet Modern History Sourcebook Project, designed as "collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use." Contents includes electronic transcriptions and weblinks relating to: The French Revolution - lead up, Liberal and Radical Revolution; responses to the revolution; a section devoted to Napoleon and the Napoleonic wars. Includes eyewitness accounts, philosophical texts, and extracts from contemporary memoirs.
Each of the sections contain carefully selected primary texts or images relating to the theme.

Examines the prominent historians and writers who have focused on The French Revolution. There are links from this site to further information about the various historians and their take on The French Revolution.

Use this wikipedia article for an overview of the historians and their interpretations of The French Revolution. It will help you in further researching historiography of The French Revolution.

Free student resource with an easy to navigate structure. Starts with a summary, places the Revolution in it's historical context, highlights the main terms, people and events and provides a timeline. The main events are then analysed : the Ancient Regime, financial crisis, eve of the revolution, estates general and national assembly, Bastille and Constitutional Monarchy, role of peasants and women, first stage of the revolution, war, second stage of the revolution, reign of terror, Thermidorean reaction, Directory, Napoleon and the end of the Revolution (1799).
Concludes with study questions, a test, and list for further reading.

One of the best sites on the French Revolution, authored by Lynn Hunt of UCLA and Jack Censer of George Mason University.
You will find 12 authoritative essays on important ideas or events during the Revolution (social causes, enlightenment and human rights, monarchy embattled, women, war, terror and resistance, the Napoleonic experience, songs, legacies of the Revolution). Also includes an extraordinary archive of some of the most important documentary evidence from the Revolution, including 338 texts, songs, 245 images, 13 maps, a timeline and a glossary of terms.

Created by Steven Kreis for The History Guide, a project designed to help university students prepare for their history classes. Excellent information on the periods in question, with images and additional links.

Created by Steven Kreis for The History Guide, a project designed to help university students prepare for their history classes. Excellent information on the periods in question, with images and additional links.

Created by Steven Kreis for The History Guide, a project designed to help university students prepare for their history classes. Excellent information on the periods in question, with images and additional links.

Provides a good overview and additional links to key events and people.